Editors' Introduction

The Department of International Law was founded in July 18, 1919 as one of the first eighteen Departments of the newly established Legal Faculty of the University of Poznań. Over the last hundred years its history has been co—created by the academic biographies of people who have contributed to its scientific and teaching life—Professors of the highest standing in the study of international law, both in Poland and abroad; judges and presidents of the highest international and national judicial institutions; members of the most important international scientific and political bodies; deputies and ministers, ambassadors, rectors and deans; authors of multilingual monographs and textbooks awarded many times with the highest distinctions; and recipients of the highest orders and decorations, both Polish and international. The pages of the jubilee volume present their achievements, with their work taking on a new form thanks to the English language translations.

The development of research directions conducted by representatives of the Poznań school of international legal scholarship was determined by the scientific work of three generations of international lawyers. Their initiator and the creator of the Department of International Law was Bohdan Winiarski—expert in the field of international river law, politician, and the first Polish President of the International Court of Justice. His successor, Alfons Klafkowski, is known as a founder of the Poznań school of international legal scholarship who organized the research life of the Department. The period when he managed the Department allowed for the development of its scholarly program with new research directions. Klafkowski himself focused on the legal approach to Polish—German relations. The issues he addressed were supplemented by topics proposed by his associates—Krzysztof Skubiszewski, who developed the Department's achievements with studies on the law of international organizations, international responsibility, and the use of force in international relations, and Bolesław Wiewióra, who devoted attention to the issue of territory. The list of research fields was then expanded by the students of Klafkowski and Skubiszewski—Jan Sandorski, Jerzy Tyranowski and Tadeusz Gadkowski—who added the legal aspects of economic integration, the invalidity of international agreements, the issue of succession in international law, and diplomatic and nuclear law. The subsequent development of the department for studies on international human rights law was initiated by Anna Michalska.

Looking at the achievements of three generations of international lawyers from the Poznań School from the perspective of the hundredth anniversary of the Department of International Law allows us to reread their works. Their achievements include texts rooted in historical contexts, which testify to the directions of thinking prevailing in the history of international legal scholarship, and also articles of a timeless status. The nature of these works proves the ability to combine theoretical work with the diagnosis of the current needs of the international and national community that characterized the Department of International Law in the times of Winiarski and still characterizes the Department of International Law today.

The publication is indebted to the institutional and financial support of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, His Magnificence the Rector of Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, and the Dean of the Faculty of Law and Administration, to whom we wish to express our heartfelt thanks. We would also like to thank Professor Hanna Suchocka for accepting our invitation to contribute in the jubilee volume by writing a foreword, the team of translators who prepared the translation of the works collected here: Stephen Dersley, Szymon Nowak, Ryszard Reisner and Tomasz Żebrowski; the reviewers of this volume for their invaluable observations and comments—Professor Brygida Kuźniak and Katarzyna Łasak, as well as the heirs of the copyrights, who agreed to the publication to the selected works.

Tadeusz Gadkowski and Paweł Kwiatkowski